Goals

I live in a constant state of self-doubt. I put so much value into social media affirmations (likes, comments, reactions, etc.) and when I see my wife and my mother are only liking something I poured myself into I get discouraged to the point I don’t try anymore. I have decided this pursuit of affirmation through social media is a waste of time, a waste of energy and it will keep me stagnate.

My wife has asked me from time to time what I want to accomplish. It is easy to get into the mindset of creating something that will go viral and then riding off on that success for the rest of my life. However, I have noticed more and more that those who go viral fade out of the public consciousness even faster.  Their audience came for one thing and once that one thing has ended, you either need to up the stakes or just accept you were only one thing. I have decided that is too small for me. I don’t want to be a temporary thrill via a viral sensation. I want to be a lasting success. I want to be able to do what I love for as long as I live.  To do that, I need to work hard and set goals.

I don’t need affirmation from social media. That doesn’t pay the bills. I need clients. I need to become a resource for people to provide services that they value; that they are willing to pay to get. My goal is that by the end of the year, I will be in a place that I can devote myself full time to multimedia production (video, graphic design, photography) and be in an even better financial situation as a result. I am writing this blog post as a contract with myself; that this goal is not only obtainable but also a must. There is no other option.

I answered my wife’s question by saying this: I only want to be able to do what I love.

Leave a Reply

